How To Be Single: Blog 1

I started my year with paragliding. There’s a paragliding site in Carmona, Cavite and the experience is awesome!!! (Don’t do this if you’re extremely afraid of heights.)
Last 2015, I booked for paragliding on my birthday (December 16 of 2016). Unfortunately, due to weather and wind constraints, the very anticipated extreme activity didn’t happen and was moved to January the following year.

Straight out of the office, I didn’t sleep because I have a hard time waking up so early. Uwe, the paragliding pilot, will meet me at the pick up point at 7 am. I arrived before 7am and wait for a bit.

Along the way, Uwe told me about how the wind will play a huge part in the activity. He also told me that more than half of his clients are females and most are alone like me. He asked if it is part of my bucket list and it is indeed.

As a single, I really believed that you should have time for yourself and do crazy things that will make you happy and this is one of those things.

Since I am the first rider to arrive, I got to experience a free test ride. It’s around 10am and the wind is building up but Uwe said that it will only lift us up and the wind energy is not enough for us to play with it.
What I saw in the movie is that you’ll run off a cliff and then you’ll flew. But I was wrong. It doesn’t work like that.

First, we rode the truck again to go at the top of the mountain. Then, the paragliding equipments will be set up. A harness and helmet will be worn.

Once all the things are set and the paragliding instructor told you to seat, the wind will blew and in no time, you’re off the ground. Uwe is pulling some strings to navigate us. Strings are like the steering wheel of the paraglide. It let you go left and right and higher and lower.



Up in the air, you’ll see Carmona in a different perspective. The wind will welcome you up in the air as well as the sun so better put some sun protector before doing this.

What I like about paragliding is that you’ll experience what is it like to be a bird flying freely. It’s like a short escape and no one will reach you up in the air. It’s a great stress reliever and it could also be a good sport for you. The experience is so awesome!

After almost 30 minutes, we landed at the top of the mountain safely and smoothly. Prior to landing I was praying that we’ll not crash or anything and we didn’t. Uwe is really a pro at this so you don’t need to worry.

After all the other riders are finished with their ride, Uwe let me ride again. This time the wind is stronger. The height of how high have we flown the first time is twice for my second ride and we got to play with the wind. I got thrilled and so happy when I got to experience the sudden shift in direction.

We’re soaring, tumbling freewheeling. And the view is so much better at the top. We also did surpass the banana plantation and some housing in Carmona. We flew farther and higher for the second ride. And the most awesome part is that we landed on the ground safely and smoothly. Again the ride lasted for 30 awesome minutes! 

I got so lucky I got to experience paragliding twice and the amount I paid is so worth it!

Paragliding sets my mood for the entire year. It made me strong to do whatever I wanted to do. It gives me courage that even if I do it alone, I’ll be able to do it. It made me dream bigger goals. And it made me see that the view is so much better at the top.

If you’re single and lonely, try things you’ve never done before. You’ll see life in a better perspective that way and you’ll slowly find happiness.

Leave a Reply

